Michael Volpe Investigates
Michael Volpe Investigates
Idaho judge exhibits anti-woman bias
2
0:00
-58:09

Idaho judge exhibits anti-woman bias

Judge Diane Walker of Ada County, has a soft spot for abusive men.
2

{In the podcast, check out a hearing in the child custody case of Veronica Baiz.}

An Idaho judge has an anti-woman bias, according to two women who had the misfortune of stepping into her courtroom.

Veronica Biaz and Sabrina Gear are sharing their stories exclusively with me.

They both say that Judge Diane “Mengele” Walker was biased toward them, and they know other women who faced the same bias.

Sabrina’s ex-husband is a drug addict but that didn’t stop Mengele from nearly giving him custody. Sabrina spent more than three unfortunate years in front of Mengele. Her only saving grace, she told me, was that she moved to Tennessee; with it, jurisdiction moved as well.

Michael Volpe Investigates is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

She said she was only speaking out because Mengele can no longer destroy her life.

Some of the court record from the Ada County- which includes Boise- Cleer of Court website about Sabrina’s case with Judge Mengele.

Sabrina said after moving, Judge Mengele even held a hearing with the Judge in Tennessee trying to convince that judge to let her keep the case in Idaho.

Once a child has lived at least six months in one place it is generally accepted that place has jurisdiction.

“In my case, it was a custody modification, where I had sole custody of my daughter,” Sabrina told me.

Sabrina told me there was significant physical and even sexual abuse by her ex-husband’s son, from another relationship, toward their daughter.

Share

“He {Sabrina’s ex} shoved her foot into a boot and let her come back to me randomly,” Sabrina told me. She said her daughter’s foot was broken, but not treated.

Veronica said she experienced similar medical neglect with her ex-boyfriend, Kyle “Chickens*&t” Engels.

Though she primarily raised both their children while they were together, Mengele initially ordered 50/50 temporary custody when the case was first opened in 2022.

Some of the voluminous court record in Veronica’s case

The first weekend that Kyle had their kids, Veronica told me that her son became sick and went into a seizure. Here is how she described in a declaration from 2022.

Upon my arrival, at 3:00 p.m., on April 8, 2022, to pick up {their son} and {their other son} from Petitioner’s rental home, {their other son} was presented to me flushed in the face and extremely whiny. Once we were home, as I carried {their other son} to go change his clothing (he said he wanted to wear his Paw Patrol pajamas), {their son} had a bowel movement where he began screaming in pain that his belly hurt. I wiped his bottom and wrapped him in a blanket and took him downstairs to the den to relax with me.

Once we were downstairs, {their other son} began hitting my chest demanding to nurse, and as I nursed him, he fell asleep, so I laid him on the couch.

{Their son} was asking for his crayons to color, and I got up to get him his crayons as well as the thermometer since {their other son} did not seem well and he felt warm. As I stood up, I moved the blanket to place it behind {their other son} and noticed he was gray and wasn’t breathing, I picked him up and began hitting his back. {Their other son} came to but was limp in my arms. I called the emergency line, and they said it would take 25 minutes or so to respond, so I immediately left with {their other son} and sped to the hospital.

While driving, {their other son} began seizing. When I arrived at the ER, they stated his fever was 104.2 and he was admitted to the ER. This all occurred around 5:00 pm During our time in the ER, {their other son} received a bag of saline and was still not very responsive. By 10:00 p.m., five hours later, they were able to bring down his fever to 102. {Their other son} had a second seizure while in the ER. They attributed his seizures to having been feverish at an extreme temperature and dehydrated for too long.

Remarkably, Veronica told me that Mengele did not believe her story because Veronica said her son had a 104-degree fever while the hospital took his temperature, and it was “only” 102.

Veronica Baiz from Facebook

Sabrina said this is the modus operandi for Judge Mengele.

Judge Mengele’s instincts are to blame the protective mom, Sabrina said.

“She (Mengele) outright stated she was going to take my daughter,” Sabrina told me, “And give her to someone who was abusive.”

Sabrina said her ex-husband had failed two drug tests- one administered by a parenting time evaluator and another by the court.

“Both times he failed the drug tests,” Sabrina told me. “He admitted that he goes to buy drugs in Oregon while the kids are with him…and after all of that the judge refused to grant me any kind of protective order and then continued to sanction me and allowed my daughter to go over there unsupervised.”

Part of a motion where Sabrina makes the sexual abuse allegations

“She would scream at me in court. She would threaten to take away my kids. She would force me to pay more money in attorney fees.” Sabrina said, “Then, attempted to take away my daughter by switching custody.”

Veronica said that a parenting time evaluation- the equivalent of a custody evaluation- was unfavorable to her, and this led to her being deemed the non-custodial parent.

Sabrina said she had the same evaluator. The results in her case were favorable toward Sabrina. She said this shows that Judge Mengele is anti-woman.

“The outcomes {of the reports} were quite different,” Sabrina said, “it just goes to show that regardless of the outcome of the report, this judge will find a way to twist it against the woman.”

Below is one of the hearings in Sabrina’s case.

0:00
-33:35

Veronica said there have been two incidents in 2024: one time her son experienced suicidal ideations and another a mark on the butt led to a hospital visit where it was determined there was a likelihood of STI, sexually transmitted infection.

In both cases, Veronica was held accountable for perceived misdeeds by Mengele. She is now on supervised visits.

Kyle described the suicidal ideations in a declaration.

“Veronica informed me that she was concerned about things {their son} had said at school and asked if {their son} could stay at her house. I said no several times. My understanding at the time {Just from Veronica’s communications to me} was that {their son} said something about wanting to kill himself.” Kyle said in the declaration.

In the other incident, a cop told Veronica to keep their child while an investigation was ongoing, so Mengele dressed down to cop for recommending that Veronica violate Mengele’s court order.

Veronica is now on supervised visits, as a result of these “transgressions.”

The case now may include election interference of sorts. Judge Mengele is on the ballot this November, and she may seal the case to try and block the voters from knowing her monstrosity fully.

I reached out to Chickens*&t and his attorney “Slimy” Sam Katz this week. I emailed each twice and called their cell phone and office.

The woman who answered the phone at Sam’s office, at “Shady” Bevis, Thiry, Hansen, and Katz, even rudely told me never to call again.

Slimy from his law firm’s website.

I received no response from either, but behind the scenes, both were very active. After my first email, Slimy Sam sent Veronica’s attorney, Chuck Bauer, the following email.

I’ve never been called a “YouTuber” before, but anytime is a good time to market, so check out my YouTube channel here.

Chuck “the Quiet Man” Bauer did not respond to two emails for comment.

I followed up with an email to Slimy and Chickens*&t on Friday, and the legal fireworks really started. Neither responded to me. Instead, Slimy and Chickens*&t filed a motion. Their response is in the motion; Chickens*&t denies all charges and Veronica is a liar. What did I say in my email? Classic Volpe. Check out Kyle’s declaration below.

Kyle is trying to evict Veronica from the home they once shared- despite telling the court he moved out- but this article is long enough. That’s a story for another time.

In Idaho, open courtrooms are supposed to be sacrosanct.

The Idaho constitution states, “Courts of justice shall be open to every person, and a speedy remedy afforded for every injury of person, property or character, and right and justice shall be administered without sale, denial, delay, or prejudice.”  

Slimy and Chickens*&t don’t care about open courtrooms or the first amendment. They will cynically use Kyle’s children to make this specious argument.

Mengele is open to their bogus argument. Even though these motions were submitted on Friday July 26, 2024, Mengele has set a hearing for Tuesday, July 30, 2024.

Veronica is trying to appeal Mengele’s last order, giving her supervised visits, but she needs Mengele’s permission to file this appeal. That makes sense. That is on the docket for Tuesday as well.

Get more from Michael Volpe in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

2 Comments
Michael Volpe Investigates
Michael Volpe Investigates
I give voice to the voiceless with true original reporting on topics the rest of the media is too afraid or lazy to cover.